Earl Grey Tea Muffins

I thought I’d have a play about with a different muffin recipe today as opposed to just endless variations on my usual one.  I was feeling both cold and civilised so the idea of warm Earl Grey Muffins caught my eye while browsing through my folder of recipes I’ve saved.  I’m afraid I can’t say where I got this one as it predates any organisation and was simply pasted into Word. 

I’m a little confused about these.  On the one hand “fairly innocuous” was the best description we could come up with.  There’s nothing wrong with them at all, they just don’t really impress.  On the other hand we each ate about three of the things without even noticing.  So they’re at once moreish and unimpressive.  The texture is about the most interesting thing about them, they are so springy and spongy you can treat them fairly roughly and they just spring back.  Which makes me think that this would be a great recipe to base some breakfast muffins on as they’ll be able to handle a commute. 

I didn’t think that the tea flavour was at all noticable but I was drinking tea at the same time that’s to be expected.  I would also think about putting more sugar in next time as I like things quite sweet.  All in all I’ll definitely be experimenting with this recipe again.  If you’re after a subtly flavoured, light bite in the afternoon these really hit the spot. 

Makes 10 muffins (although I’m beginning to think my muffin tin is just really big, you may get 12)

230g plain flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
4 tbsp light muscovado sugar (the one that looks like wet sand)
1 heaped tsp earl grey tea leaves, finely ground
pinch of salt
2 large eggs
3 tbsp sunflower oil
300ml milk + 1 tbsp lemon juice (or buttermilk if you have it)

– Heat the oven to gas mark 5 and grease or line a 12 hole muffin tin. 
– In a medium sized bowl mix together the dry ingredients. 
– In a jug beat together the wet ingredients. 
– Pour the wet into the dry and mix.  You don’t want to mix it too thoroughly, some lumps make for fluffier muffins. 
– Pour the batter into the muffin holes. 
– Bake for 25-30 minutes. 
– Test with a skewer for doneness.  If the skewer is clean they’re done, if it isn’t then give them another few minutes. 
– Cool on a wire rack if eating cold, enjoy straight away if eating warm.  If serving warm though don’t leave them on a plate for too long as the bottoms will go soggy. 

3 Comments

Filed under Cupcakes and Muffins, Easy

3 responses to “Earl Grey Tea Muffins

  1. Pingback: Tea Muffins « Anna in the kitchen

Leave a comment

