3 Ingredient Chocolate Sauce

First of all this is not really a recipe. Because my family have been making this for decades to pour over ice cream and it defies quantifying. You gotta feel it in your heart. That being said, I keep forgetting it so I’m trying to write it down so I don’t have to text my mum every time I want it.

-Knob of Butter

– Huge spoon of golden syrup

– A large spoon of cocoa powder

– Melt in a small pan, stirring constantly.

How hot it gets determines the texture. If it’s just boiling it will be fudgy and chewy. If you bring it to a rolling boil it will form a hard shell when poured over the cold ice cream (so satisfying to crack with your spoon!) and then you chew it like toffee.

If it looks oily and isn’t coming together then add more golden syrup. If it seems chalky and dry and is burning you need more butter.

This can be reheated in a pan or a microwave to soften and then poured again but it’s more likely to form a shell after reheating than be fudgy.

Leave a comment

Filed under Desserts, Easy, Gluten Free, quick

Leave a comment