Orange Refrigerator Cookies

I had a plan.  It was a good plan too.  I was going to put a post up on Mondays and Fridays.  Nice and easy, get a bit of organisation going on and keep my cooking mojo going.  Life doesn’t seem to agree with me though.  First I lost the recipe I was going to post, then I got the mother of all stinking colds and was out of action for a week.  However, here I am ready to roll (although, admittedly snuggled up in bed as it’s miserable outside and I’m still a bit unwell).

This recipe is an old favourite from childhood.  The main selling point is basically, cookies on demand! You make the dough, bung it in the fridge (or freezer) and then when you want cookies you simply slice however many you want off the log and bake them. 15 minutes later you have cookies! What’s not to love about that?

Makes about 48

125g butter
150g caster sugar
zest of 1 orange
1 egg
250g plain flour
1tsp baking powder
100g plain chocolate chips

– Cream together the butter and the sugar.
– Add the orange zest (I like to zest my orange over the bowl so that you get all the lovely orange oil too for really fragrant biscuits).
– Beat in the egg.
– Sift in the flour and baking powder and add the chocolate chips.
– Mix until it forms a dough.
– Shape the dough into two logs about 2″ thick.
– Wrap in clingfilm and chill in the fridge for at least 2 hours or up to one week.
-When ready to bake heat the oven to gas mark for and slice however many cookies you require from the log and place them on a baking tray.
– Bake for 15 minutes then leave to cool on the tray for 2 minutes before removing to cool completely on a wire rack.  (Or eat warm with a glass of milk for utter comfort food!)

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies and Biscuits, Easy

Leave a comment