Saag Aloo

I’ve never actually eaten Saag Aloo before so I don’t really know how this recipe compares to others.  What I can say is that I found it absolutely delicious and I will definitely be cooking it again!

Saag Aloo

I will especially be deploying it when my dad cooks curry.  I love spices and the breadth of flavours they bring.  I am not a fan of blowing your head of with heat!  My Dad believes that the hotter a curry is the better.  The potatoes and spinach in this Saag Aloo work to cut down on the spice level but still with a fantastic depth of flavour in its own right.

Saag Aloo

Serves 4

2 tbsp sunflower oil
20g butter
1 onion
2 cloves garlic
2 tsp turmeric
1/2 tsp chilli
2 tsp coriander
1 tsp coriander leaf
2 tsp cumin
2 tsp ginger
1 tsp black mustard seeds
1 tsp Nigella seeds
500g potatoes, cubed ~1cm
200g spinach

  • Heat the oil and butter in a large saucepan until bubbling.
  • Add the onion and garlic and cook with the lid on for about 3 minutes until the onion is soft.
  • Add the spices and cook for 1 minute.
  • Add the potatoes and just enough boiling water to cover them 3/4 the way up.
  • Simmer with the lid on for 20-30 minutes until a sharp knife pierces the potato softly.
  • Add the spinach and give it a stir to wilt.
  • Serve with whatever you wish!
3 Comments

Filed under Easy, Sides

3 responses to “Saag Aloo

  1. Yum making me hungry for curry!

  2. Love your sense of adventure:)

  3. koolaidmoms

    Looks great. I agree I like curry but not the too spicy dishes.

Leave a comment

