Tomato Soup Recipe

I was walking past the market today and the piles of tomatoes inspired me to make tomato soup so I grabbed a bag full and off I went.  Only to discover as I continued walking that the stall I’d bought them from was the most expensive one, oops!!  That would explain why the other stall had a massive queue I guess.  Even so I think it was still cheaper than Tesco woud have been.  Probably better flavour too as they weren’t refrigerated to death.  Next time I’ll be cannier.  Now on to the soup!

Serves 4

8 large tomatoes on the vine, or plum tomatoes*
2 cloves garlic, sliced
olive oil
2 tbsp sugar
1 tbsp fresh basil leaves, shredded
salt and pepper

– Heat the oven to gas mark 5.
– Slice the tomatoes into quarters and put in an oven proof dish or roasting pan with the garlic and drizzle with olive oil. 
– Place the dish (use two if necessary) in the oven and roast for at least 30 minutes. 
– Remove the tomatoes from the oven and tip the contents of the dish into a large pan.
– Heat on a medium heat using a wooden spoon to break up the tomatoes a bit. 
– Remove from the heat and add the sugar and basil. 
– Use a hand blander to blend the tomatoes until completely smooth. 
– Put the pan back on the heat, bring just to the boil and season to taste (I added just a pinch of salt and a few grinds of pepper). 
– Serve warm with a swirl of sour cream,bread and butter. 

* I prefer the flavour of plum tomatoes but regular tomatoes on the vine are good enough.  You may need to add a little more sugar to bring out the full flavour though.

Leave a comment

Filed under Easy, Starters

Leave a comment

